Raison d’etre

Today, my lovely, angelic wife decided to work a shift for someone.  This threw the entire family’s schedule out of whack.  I had to leave work to pick up both boys.  I was almost too late meeting Mikhail at the bus stop.  The driver was leafing through her to-call list to make a call that no one was there to meet him.  We hurried to get Kenyan and the poor kid was waiting patiently after watching his classmates leave with their parents.

In sticking with the topic of my post, as I walked hand in hand with my oldest son after he stepped off his bus, I listened to his excited stories du jour and how he was starting to feel sad when he didn’t see me standing there waiting. My heart was swollen with love for this kid.  Then we picked up his brother and seeing his expression as he saw me outside the door, was priceless.  With a shout of  ‘Daddy!’ he threw himself into my arms while excitedly telling me and Mikhail that he had made something for us.  He had me opened up his school back and as I told him there was nothing in there but his clothes, he shoved me away and took the clothes out piece by piece until he realized that there was nothing else in there.  He looks at me incredulously.  ‘Daddy, it’s in my class!’ I had no clue what he was talking about but went along with it anyways. ‘Let’s go back to your class and get it.’ I said.   We met his teacher at the door on her way to bring him his ‘forgotten’ project made especially for Daddy and Mikhail.

As all three of us walked to the car, well they skipped and jumped as all kids are apt to do, I realized that right there with me, were two of my reasons to be alive. At that moment, all was right with the world.  Every issue in my life, (I don’t know of any off the bat), was forgotten and I was in my happy place listening to the prattle of my two boys.

We played a game of ‘knock knock’ in the car as I drove them to their Grandmother’s house.

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Children, Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

