Caution: Kids fighting

At first I tried to stop my kids from fighting.  To me it was simply too much, too often. It seemed that they could never get enough of hitting each other, always on the floor wrestling, punching each other no matter where they were.  To make matters worst, someone would always end up crying. ‘Daddy! Mikhail hit me in the face!”  Kenyan is usually the one that ends up crying.

After thinking about it, ( I think a lot. Too much sometimes), I realized that I was being a bit too hard on the boys.  They were healthy and growing and were only doing what boys do. Play fight.  My mom later informed me that I constantly beat up on my brother as a kid myself. So I was not the perfect kid as some of you may think. With this in mind, I then decided to step back and allow my boys to be boys.  I know I keep telling them to sit down, stop fighting and be quiet but what if they actually sat quietly like zombies? Is that really what I would like?

Amie and I came up with ways of making sure their fights are safe by having wrestling matches with us being referees.  We make  up rules that prohibits hitting in faces, choking, biting etc.  This works very well and by the time the match is over, we have two tired kids sitting quietly on the couch.

 

 

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Children, Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Caution: Kids fighting

  1. I am learning. Boys are wired so very differently from girls.

Leave a Reply

