Point taken, back to basics

Last night, I was made aware that even though my son is a very intelligent 5-year-old, it did not necessarily mean that I could take anything for granted.

I was putting him to bed and my mom, (Nana) came to his bedroom to say goodnight.  When she was leaving, he called out, “Nana! You are fat!”  Fortunately, mom has a sense of humor so she did not take it personal.

After she left, I had a talk with him about what not to say to others and mentioned that it was not nice to tell someone that they are fat. His reply, “But Daddy, you never told me that before.” stopped me momentarily.  Of course I never did son.  It just didn’t occur to me that I should say ‘Hey Mik,  sorry to interrupt your Wii game but I just wanted to let you know that you are not supposed to tell anyone that they are fat.”  As a matter of fact, I never really thought it necessary, until now that is, to tell him what was acceptable or unacceptable to say to others.  Daddy just incorrectly thought he would learn these things along the road of life. Plus he’s so grown up for a 5 year old that I assumed he would know the basics

Maybe I wouldn’t deliver that lesson in that way, but the thing is, one cannot teach their kids everything about the dos and don’t.  Some lessons are taught only when the situation arises, (Hopefully not to dire consequences).  Our smart kids will sometimes try to tell us that it is our fault that they did what they did as they were never told it was wrong. Hmmm…So what can we do? We can’t cover all the basics.

In my son’s case, he honestly had no clue about the impact of his statement.  As a matter of fact, Nana is on the skinny side so it was not even applicable.  Even still, I am using it as an opportunity to pay attention to instilling in him, and his brothers, how to be nice to others.  If my sons are not nice human beings, their intelligence would be worthless.

As of time of blogging, Mikhail has promised to make a conscious effort to be nicer and today, apologized to his Nana.

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Children, Family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

