Mommy said Daddy is not nice :(

My wife thinks I am not a nice person.  She says that I am only nice to her and the boys. I don’t agree with her for one second, (and I hope you don’t either, especially after reading this blog).  I told her that I should be called Mr. Nice Guy as I am very nice.  I open and hold doors for others, offer help to those in need, very compassionate to whoever needs compassion and I am always ready with a joke for those having bad days.  Her point of argument stems from me having a problem, (Well to her it is a problem) of telling my friends exactly how it is. Mostly only when asked though.  For example, if you came in to work looking tired and hung over and asked me how you looked, my answer would be that you looked like crap.  No humming or hawwing,  blunt and to the point like that. Life is short and I really wouldn’t like you to think that maybe you looked good enough to sit in a meeting with the bosses.  (If you think I’m too insensitive, say so). How could you argue with that? Deep down, I think it’s what we all crave but even though we usually ask for it, we simply cannot handle the truth sometimes.  On the flip side, I am never shy with my compliments. I would even go out of my way to let you know that whatever you were wearing, looked great.

At my work, myself and a few  co-workers were discussing what we would do if we ever won a large amount of money, say a million dollars each.  One of the things that they were unanimous on was that WE would all go to an island somewhere and do all these things together.  I, being the realist and saddled with the dirty job of being the bad guy to break the news, was adamant that if we won, we most likely would never see each other again.  Not that I can’t stand them or anything. I love em all, but subtract the workplace and we have nothing else in common.  Come to think of it, I don’t know or barely know their significant others. (Even though I have been working with them for years).

My point was that we do not hang out outside of work so now that we have money and can hang out anywhere in the world, why would we choose to hang out with people we had never hooked up with before?  Rich folks can still get uncomfortable…

So that’s basically what I was relaying to the wife when she accused me of not being nice,  even though she has seen me go out of my way to let a salesperson know that their customer service was above par. (I even wrote to an airline once to let them know that I had received an excellent traveling experience).

Angel or not, woman or not, I think my wife is wrong this time.  I am not buying it. I am the epitome of nice. I make nice.  Look up nice in the dictionary and if there isn’t a picture of me, then it’s because I probably looked like crap and had it removed. (I don’t always look this good).

Oh and by the way, you there, yes you with the glasses reading my blog and smiling. Let me say that you have a really nice smile…

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mommy said Daddy is not nice :(

  1. Your wife is crazy. You’re the nicest person I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

