Broken Families At Christmas

If there is one day in 365 days of the year, that differences should be put aside, it’s Christmas.  On that day, we should have no place in our hearts for hate and segregation.  Christmas is a time for celebrating with family, friends and those who just need to feel a sense of belonging.

(How would you like to have the guests fighting each other at your own birthday party? That’s exactly what we when we refuse to unite on Christ’s Birthday.  Imagine how he must feel).

This year more than any other, I am seeing and hearing of a lot of families that are spending Christmas apart due to petty disputes.  (You may not agree that it is petty, but trust me, it is). Family members vowing not to show up at their annual Family Christmas get-together. Unacceptable is what I say. Seriously? How selfish can one be? This to me is the epitome of immaturity.  To make matters worse, sometimes kids are involved.  Their parents’ selfishness robs them of enjoying Christmas the way it was meant to be enjoyed.  They are the rope in this tug-o-war. I really don’t get it.

I am not blogging as an outsider looking in, no, this plague has also taken a toll on my family. I have tried to reach out an olive branch if only as a temporary bridge to the gap, year after year.  My efforts go in vain and I am left stressing out about how I could fix something that I didn’t break.  I am left asking ‘Did I do enough? Is there anything else I could do?” and many other such questions.

If you are planning on alienating a family member a friend or anyone this Christmas, for whatever reasons you consider fitting for you to act in such a way, don’t.  Eat humble pie, bend a little. Be the bigger person. See the bigger picture. Life is short and family is sometimes all that we have.   I also have yet to see a problem that couldn’t be patched up if one is willing to let go.

Do it for Christmas. Do it for the Children. Do it for your peace of mind.  For God’s sake, just do it.

Merry Christmas!

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

