Giant Apple Pancake! Ihop Style!

English: Dutch style apple pancake served at t...

I do not consider myself a great cook by any stretch of the imagination.  I can hold my own but pale or even disappear in comparison to my wife. She is the Martha Stewart/Betty Crocker cross. (A rare breed).  When it comes to breakfast, I am no slouch. Maybe it’s because it is my favorite meal. (I can eat breakfast 3 times a day).  I enjoy making breakfast and always look for interesting and yummy recipes.

Last week, I happened to be a part of a conversation about Apple Pancakes.  I had never heard of them but I love pancakes and I love apples so it seemed like something I would relish. I asked and was given a recipe that presumably was used by Ihop. So it must be good.

I could barely wait for the weekend as I imagined the look on the faces of my family as they sampled my masterpiece. Mmmm…In my mind I was already planning on making it a family tradition. Apple Pancake Saturdays! (Has a nice ring to it eh?).

I woke up before anyone else, gathered my ingredients and went to work. The finished product lived up to  the hype both in looks and taste. “Come on down! Breakfast is ready!” I called, with pride in my voice. It could have well been, “Daddy made an awesome pancake, come and try it cuz you will love it!”

They did come. With hungry expectations in their faces. Or maybe it was just sleep but they came nonetheless.  Mikhail shared my excitement and professed that it did indeed taste great. Treyton was not that impressed, Mommy reminded me that she was on a diet and monitoring her carbs so would have none of it. (She did break off a tiny piece to taste though.  So tiny that I am sure it flew past her taste buds).  Kenyan covered his mouth thus preventing anything crossing his pearly whites. I urged him, begged him, pleaded with him to please give it a chance and at least taste it.  “Come on, you love Mommy’s Apple Pies. It tastes the same.” He finally allowed me to put a taste bite in his mouth.  He chewed it with a look of disdain but refused to swallow. Resigned and pride now mortally wounded, I made him spit it out in the garbage.

Wait, the teens were not awake yet, they would demolish it when they did. All was not yet lost!  Teenager woke up a few hours later.  Well I kinda went into his room and helped him to get the waking up process going faster.  Give me a break here, us Dads don’t get credit for doing much so I wasn’t going to let taste buds impaired kids ruin it for me.  “I made Apple Pancakes.” I calmly told Teenager, trying not to sound boastful. “What?” was his sleepy response. “Apple Pancakes.  They are good. Do you like apples?” “Yes.”  “Then you would like it.”

In the kitchen, he looked at my pièce de résistance as if it was a ticking time bomb.  After tasting it, he declined to make it his breakfast. I didn’t question his unwise decision. Maybe I couldn’t handle the truth.  (It did not warrant more than a passing glance from the other teenager). Not one to waste food, I had the leftovers again for lunch. (I love breakfast).

My Pancake was good. No question about it. I promise you, it was! It wasn’t me, it was them. Yesterday I finally had the nerve to ask Teenager why he loves apples and loves pancakes yet didn’t like my Apple Pancake. He replied that he doesn’t like eggs and the egg taste was a bit too overpowering. I concurred. After all the recipe did call for half a dozen eggs. You heard me right. 6 eggs!  At the time I thought nothing of it but now, 6 eggs? It takes me a month to eat that much eggs!

Like a phoenix, I will rise from this and remake my pancake. I’ll probably use 3 eggs but everything else would stay the same. Like I said, the thing was good! And that’s all that matters.  Anyone up for Pancake Saturdays at the Walcotts’?

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Family, Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Giant Apple Pancake! Ihop Style!

  1. Thank you for linking to my blog post about my “Baked Apple Pancake”. I’m sure your giant pancake was delicious! I did not mention this in my post, but I reduced the number of eggs in my recipe from 6 to 4 because it tasted too “eggy” and the texture wasn’t quite what I wanted. Keep experimenting, you’ll get there!

  2. Shala Howell says:

    That’s a lot of eggs! How big was your batch? The recipe I used for mine, which came from the Wilson Farm Country Cookbook only called for 1 egg/batch of seven-ten pancakes. Also, have you tried swapping 1/2 the white flour with rolled instant oats? Mmmm….

    • Enigma says:

      It was! I made a Giant one so I guess that would be like more than a few pancakes in one. I am going with about 3-4 next time. Thanks for the input, I’ll try the oats also.

  3. Pingback: Breakfast at Caterpickles II | CATERPICKLES

  4. Pingback: Classic Caterpickles: Breakfast at Caterpickles II | CATERPICKLES

Leave a Reply

