Not So Terrible Twos

When Mikhail, our first son, was turning two, we faced it with a feeling of apprehension, understandably.  After all we were constantly reminded and warned by other parents to be wary of the ‘Terrible Twos’. “If you think he’s bad now, just wait until he turns two.” was what we kept hearing.

When the time came for the dreaded transition, we were very vigilant to catch any signs of this phenomena and stomp it out before it took root.  We watched and waited and watched some more but nothing he did was any different from what he did prior to turning two.  Other than being a bit more mature and smarter,(and a bit taller) there were no signs that he had turned two.  We thought we had dodged a bullet.

Then it was Kenyan’s (Our second son) turn.  We were sure the law of average would catch up to us. We were wrong yet again.  He waltzed into his twos as if it was just another year, and it was.  By now we were getting the hang of parenting. (About time!), and knew that the groundwork we had put down in their first year, had made it easier for them and us. When our last one turned 2 last month, we barely batted an eyelid. Terrible Twos? Bah!

Personally, I do think that this Terrible Twos label is just there to make parents feel better about their kids’ experimental stage.  It is much easier to chalk up the tantrums and fits of rage to this phenomena.  As you can tell from the angles of my blogs, I don’t subscribe to these labels.

Now don’t be fooled by this blog. We don’t have perfect kids. I do have days that I want to lock myself up in my room and wear ear plugs, or go to work so I can have some sanity.  That’s a whole different blog…

Footnote: After publishing this blog, my wife pointed out that she did not see things the way I did.  She said that our second son was TERRIBLE at the age of two.  Gimme a break!  I’m just a Daddy, what do I know?

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Children, Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Not So Terrible Twos

  1. Thank you for linking my blog post within your post. I’ll be sure to return the favor and look forward to reading more of your posts.

  2. Pingback: who are you and what have you done with my kid? | Single Mom Reality Check

Leave a Reply

