When The Grim Reaper Reaps

Death paid a visit this past weekend, not to my immediate family but to my nephew’s dad, my sister’s ex.  He was living back in the Caribbean but communicated weekly by phone with my nephew. As a matter of fact, they had spoken mere hours before he was found dead.

Living back in St. Vincent, I was very close with the deceased and his siblings.  In the last five years or so, three of them have taken a sudden departure from this earth.  All were a couple of years older or younger than I am.

Yesterday, as I pondered death and its randomness while also remembering the reaper’s latest victim, I thought of how short life was. How unpredictable.  I wondered if he had kissed his family lately and let his loved ones know how much he cared for them. I examined myself and wondered how ready was I if the reaper decided to drop in unexpectedly. I wasn’t and in fact, I never would be.

The funny, if I could use that word, thing about all this is that we are all guilty of having pensive moments like this when someone we know dies.  I have been to funerals where I saw old friends not seen in many years.  We all vowed to keep in touch and not let a funereal occasion be the reason for us to have a reunion. Never happens.  Just like I doubt that this wake up call will be the catalyst for any profound changes, in me or anyone else.  Fortunately and sometimes unfortunately, Pain, Sadness, Happiness, Feelings, they can be fleeting and the resolutions made when we are in these moments are easily forgotten when the moment has passed.

R.I.P Rasum. Gone but will forever be remembered

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

