Happy Mother’s Day With Love

jkklglh

I am not one for Mother’s Day, Valentine’s Day, Father’s day etc.  Of course I am sentimental and very caring, with the potential to be mushy.  My reasoning behind my non-observance of these days is that I refuse to be part of the over commercialization that have clouded the meaning of these holidays.  One can no longer think of these days without thinking of spending money, sometimes lots of it.  Sad but true.  (Did you know that the founder of Mother’s Day actually filed a lawsuit to get it halted after she saw what it turned into? A boost for business).  Read more on that here.

So instead of waiting for these observances, I prefer to spontaneously acknowledge the contributions of Mothers, Fathers, Spouses, etc.  A card, rose or dinner out of the blue carries more weight than if it was done because the ads on tv dictated it.  For mother’s day, get your mom the gift that last forever, give her diamonds! For only $2599, your mom would thank you forever.  This stunning diamond comes with…click!

Saying this, I would like to put aside my opinion and tip my heart to all the mothers out there.  It doesn’t matter if you gave birth or adopted, you are still a mother. Your task is great and no matter how much we say we appreciate you, it is not enough.

The main reason (other than God, that is) why I am where I am today, is my mom.  A hard-working single mom of 4 children, she held a night job and a day job to make sure that her kids could have a fighting chance.   Her story has made me appreciate the herculean task that single moms are making and have made.   I have three children of my own and although I have a wife to help, it is still not an easy job.  So for you single moms, a special Happy Mother’s Day to you.  Keep on doing the good job you are doing.

To my lovely and angelic wife, Happy Mother’s Day!  I could not have asked for a better mother for my boys who are too young to fully grasp your worth in their lives.  You might not be getting gifts or going out for an expensive dinner but you are still just as special.

To my WordPress followers who are mothers, Happy Mother’s day.  To you, yes you there, enjoy your day with your kid or kids and have a Happy Mother’s Day!

Related articles

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happy Mother’s Day With Love

  1. Anonymous says:

    “You might not be getting gifts or going out for an expensive dinner but…” – I guess this is my pre-warning not to get my hopes up and have a repeat episode of Valentine’s Day? Thanks for the warning this time honey!! All joking aside…thank you for appreciating me 365 days a year. Wait wasn’t this a leap year?…

  2. Pingback: Roses for Her … « My Space in the Immense Universe

  3. Hello! I found you through a ping back from My space in the immense. Great post. I love the idea of spontaneously doing something instead of getting caught up in the hype (just like Christmas…it’s not all about Santa and presents). God bless!

    • Enigma says:

      Thank you very much for reading and commenting. It’s too bad that so many are caught up by the hype that surrounds these very important holidays. By the time the next generation grows up, the meanings would be lost.

Leave a Reply

