Saving Ali’s Life

This morning Ali was floundering.  Actually he was more than floundering, he was dragging ass, literally.  He had been like this for a couple of days now but me, being busy and a bit selfish, ignored him.  I walked by him thinking to myself, ‘I must do something about Ali before he dies.  He needs my attention.’

Ali wasn’t eating.  He was lying there barely moving.  This morning as I got ready for work, my heart broke that the little guy could barely look at me.  After four years, we had developed a unique friendship.  Words were unnecessary.  We could look at each other for what seemed like hours without a word between us.  My gold-fish and I.

So after a few days of ignoring him, I decided to take immediate action this morning.  Looking at him, I doubted he would have made it through the day.   The plastic plant that was in his bowl had some black stuff all over it and the stuff floated around his water.  I transferred him to a pot and gave his bowl a thorough cleaning, disposing of the fake plant and the fake rocks I had in there.  Ali would have a bit more space to roam now.

When I finally put him back into his glass house, Ali was himself in minutes.  darting here and there and eating like a starving blogger.  My day was made.  I didn’t just save a life, I saved Ali’s life.

 

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Pets and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

