A Thank You Letter To The National Hockey League

Original NHL logo, used until 2005. A version ...

Dear NHL,

It’s me, Carlos.  You should know me by now since I’ve been a faithful follower of yours for some time now.  I even bought season tickets so I can actually go to games.  My wife thinks I am addicted but I think she’s just jealous.  She said when I am watching games, I ignore her and everyone else including the kids.  If you still don’t know who I am, that’s fine.

The reason I’m writing to you is I want to say thank you for giving me a much-needed break by being in a lockout.  I am now realizing that there is more to life than the NHL.  It has only been a month but man, did I ever need this.  You see, we have just built a new house and you know how that goes, you spend the rest of your life turning it into a home. Renovations to the hilt.  Finish the basement, build a deck, landscape the yard…  There’s no way I would have gotten anything done while trying to keep up with the games.  I have finished framing the basement (You should see my stick handling skills with a 2×2 or a 2×4) and started wiring last night.  No one knew that I even had it in me. HA! I’ll show them.

With the extra time I now have, I am also thinking of taking some skating lessons with my boys, instead of watching a bunch of overpaid guys skate.  (Sorry, I shouldn’t have said that.  You guys deserve more than the 50/50 split the owners are offering).  Instead of Hockey Nights In Canada, it’s now Family Night At The Walcotts.   Sounds more productive, you must admit.  Before bedtime, my boys and I watch the show ‘Wipeout’ instead of hockey.  I am finding things around the house that I never even knew I had.  Books I haven’t read, tools I haven’t used, a son…

Hey, remember how my blood pressure used to spike while watching close games with bad calls?  Especially those going into overtime?  Well so far, my blood pressure has been near perfect.  No stress over power plays and bias referees.  I have my own goals now and they do not involve hockey.

This has to be the best thing you could have ever done for me.  (Well other than giving me a chance to see Ovie).  I am like a new man with a new lease on life! I can really get used to this.

Hopefully, I’ll see you next year.  Gotta run, got lots on the plate.

Faithfully,

Carlos

P.S  Now if you can top that off by sending  Ovechkin to my house for Christmas, that would be awesome!  He’s not that busy anyways and the boys would be so excited!  I would be too.

 

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Thank You Letter To The National Hockey League

  1. Pingback: No Hockey? No Problem! « The Life and Times of Nathan Badley…

Leave a Reply

