I Am In Heaven Now Mommy – A poem influenced by the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting

imagesMommy please don’t cry

Or even ask why

I had to die.

And please don’t be sad,

Not everyone’s bad,

No need to get mad.

*                    *                *

We were having fun

Then he came with his gun,

And we started to run.

But mommy it was too late,

For me and my classmates.

He had so much hate.

*                *                     *

He shot again and again

I felt the pain

And cried out in vain.

Then darkness brought sleep,

so sweet and deep

Please mommy, don’t weep.

*                  *                     *

We were practicing Away In A Manger

Never saw the stranger,

No time to yell Danger!

Mommy, I’m so sorry

That I left in a hurry

Please don’t worry.

*                   *                   *

Now I really must go,

But let Dad know

That I love him so.

Tell Grandpa goodbye

And remember, don’t cry

And don’t you ask why

The apple of your eye

Today had to die.

*                   *                     *

I’m In Heaven Now Mommy.

Dedicated to the children of Sandy Hook Elementary School who lost their lives on Friday, December 14th 2012. RIP

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Children, Faith, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Am In Heaven Now Mommy – A poem influenced by the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting

  1. Josette says:

    Wow. I’ve got tears streaming Carlos. Those poor little Angels. May they rest in Peace

  2. Carlos, that was so beautiful. Thank you for
    Sharing.

Leave a Reply

