Frustratingly Jealous

P1120019I love to make the boys giggle uncontrollably.  Because Mikhail is six years old, it usually takes a bit more effort to get him to crack a smile.  He’s usually too busy with a game or a show and I would get, “Stop Daddy!  You are distracting me.” That is, unless I made his brothers laugh first then it’s a whole different story.

A few days ago, he said to me, “Daddy, how come you don’t make me laugh like you do Kenyan and Treyton?”  “Mikhail, Kenny and Trey are easily amused they are still very young and always love to play with daddy.  You are six and when I try to play with you, you barely laugh.  You say I’m interrupting you.  You are older and don’t laugh at the same things they laugh at.”

Being Mikhail, Of course he didn’t buy my explanation.  “But you never do the same thing to me that you do to them.”  So I tickled and bugged him while he muster fake laughs and giggles.  Whatever makes the little fella happy…

One night, while getting them ready for bed, Kenyan, who is as rough as they come but has the softest of hearts, , gave Mikhail his Diego little boy chair so he could sit in while playing his Xbox.  I usually try to acknowledge any good deed or behavior that they do so I said to him,  “Good job Kenny, Daddy is proud of you when you are a good brother.”

Later while tucking in Mikhail, he said to me, “You are always saying good job to Kenyan and Treyton but not to me.  How come you told him you were proud of him but you didn’t say it to me?  You are never proud of me!”  Oh really now Mikhail?  Daddy’s not proud of you?  Why do you think I have a blog?  “I am proud of you, Mikhail.  Of course I am.  “What are you proud about?” He asked.  Gosh where do I start?  “Well I’m proud of you for how fast you are learning the piano, how good you are at reading, how smart you are, how I could talk to you like a big boy, your dancing…do you remember me taking a picture of you as you got off the bus today?  That was to show my friends because I’m so proud of you.”P1120024

He still wasn’t impressed.  I had to promise him that I would tell him on a regular basis how proud of him I was.  (I always do but he’s too busy to notice unless of course it’s directed to his brothers).

I keep trying to remind Mik that he’s loved not because he’s like his brothers but because he’s like himself.  As the older one, he needs to set the trend and not follow it.  Around his younger brothers, he acts their age but alone with mommy or daddy, he is a very grown-up 6-year-old and it’s a pleasure conversing with him.

P1120037

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Children, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Frustratingly Jealous

  1. robind333 says:

    He’s such a little doll! But I know how difficult it can be! Sometimes, they just want to hear you say your proud of them completely out of the blue, when they’re not expecting it. Are have a little secret just between the two of you, it makes them feel special….With my four kids I had to find ways to let them know but each in a different manner. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful post and many, many blessings to you…Robin

Leave a Reply

