Mik’s Movie Night and An End To Bum Wiping

thA couple posts ago, I wrote a blog, They do grow up fast but you’ll barely notice.  Well yesterday evening, my 6 and 4-year old sons put that theory to the test.

When I got home, I received a message from Amie asking if it was fine for Mikhail to go to the movies with one of his friends from his class.  His friend’s mom had called her to ask if he could go with him to watch the movie  ‘The Croods’.   I immediately agreed.  “Why not? He is becoming a big boy and needs to start doing this like that.  Plus he is on Spring break.

Mommy was a bit reluctant to send her ‘little’ big boy off to the movies without either one of us present.  She wasn’t ready for that big step.  Mikhail was excited when told that he would be going to a movie.  He bragged about it to his brothers who seemed less than impressed.  He waltzed in about 10pm like a teenager returning from their first date.

While Mik was out, I was enjoying some time with the other two boys.  Preparing them for bed, Kenyan had to use the bathroom.  I left him alone with the intention of returning to do wiping duties.  I never did.  As we were having our pre-bedtime hangout, I asked him if he had pooped and he said yes.  “And you didn’t call me to wipe your bum?” Was my response.  “But Daddy, I wanted to be a big boy and wipe my own bum.”  He declared.

Well I didn’t see that coming.  He always insisted that daddy wipe his bum, even though I had thought him the mechanics.  I knew one day he would not want or allow me to do it so I didn’t mind catering to him but I still was not ready to be dumped. Pardon the pun.  So much for barely noticing.

Yes, I still had to do a ‘passover’ but assured the little one that he had done a good job and there was nothing wrong with being independent.  I made him promise that next time he would call me before he got up so I could approve his work.  Or was it because I still wanted to feel  like I was needed?

Two milestones in the same evening.  What next?

 

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Children, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

