Happy Mother’s Day!

th2I would like to dedicate this blog to all the wonderful women who have played, and still play, a major role in my life.  Helping to define the man I am today.

My long-deceased aunt comes to mind.  Tanty (Aunty), was the first Mommy I knew.  She was strict and she was firm, teaching me respect and the importance of having morals.  I can say that without her mentoring, I would not be the man I am today.  Tanty was not blessed with children of her own but she spent her life taking care of other people’s.   Happy Mother’s Day, Tanty.  Rest in peace.

My mom was left alone with her three young children while my dad took off for preceived greener pastures.  She did not let that stop her from being a mommy to us and stepped up to the plate.  God has blessed her with a heart of gold.  Her unselfishness means she puts others first, sometimes sacrificing her own happiness.  Although verbalizing ‘I love you’ is alien to us, our mutual respect is based on love.  Without my mother sacrificing her own happiness to provide for us, I surely would not be the man that I am today.  Happy Mother’s Day, Mommy!  I love you!

I cannot blog about the mothers in my life without mentioning Grandma Rose, my mother-in-law.  She accepted me into her life before she even really knew me.  She gave me the benefit of the doubt and allowed me to prove myself.  My wife has jokingly accused her of being closer to me than she is to her.  Rosie, as I affectionately call her, would give me the shirt off her back if I was in need and she is my other mother.  She deserves to be wished a Happy Mother’s Day.  Love you, Rosie!

th

My boys are the most fortunate kids in the world.  Why? Because they have a mommy who has it all and does it all.  She’s the best mom any kid could ever want.  Watching her mother our kids is a delight, even though sometimes she complains that sometimes she feels she has to be my wife and my mom.  (Joking of course…).  Amie has been the main architect of the happiness in my life and without her, I definitely would not be where I am today.

When I think of Mother’s Day, these are the women I think of and then I think of those like them.  The single mothers without the help of a dad, the physically challenged mother, like Grandma Rose who raised a daughter like Amie, the mothers without kids of their own, taking care of other kids.  Yes, I think of you and today, I want to wish you a Happy Mother’s Day.

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. Pingback: Happy Mothers Day… | 20 Lines A Day

  2. Pingback: The young Mother set foot .. | jhasmoments

Leave a Reply

