Mommy, Is That My Daddy?

images2Being a black man married to a white woman, it can be interesting and amusing the things that our kids say.  Sometimes the interesting and amusing is replaced by shock and embarrassment.  My 4 and 6-year old sons have asked me, “Daddy, why are you black and mommy white?”  “Daddy, do you know why I love you so much?  Because you are black.”  Kenyan has told me on a few occasions.

Last week, my wife took 3-year old Treyton to his first soccer game.  Mikhail also has his games scheduled on the same day so we do a family split up.  My wife sent me an ‘omg’ text from his game.  Treyton just embarrassed the heck out of me!

On Treyton’s team there was anther kid whose parents were also mixed.  The dad was present at the game and on seeing him Treyton pointed and said out loud to Amie,  “Mommy look!  Is that Daddy?”  The poor guy was probably sent his wife a text with almost the same wording.  OMG!  Some black kid just asked his mom if I was his dad.  Awkward!   As long as his wife didn’t reply, “Are you?”

Yesterday was my turn to take Treyton to his game.  Of course Kenyan elected to come with me instead of going to Mik’s game with Mommy.  Because I’m black. While we were sitting on the sidelines, the other mixed kid, apparently maybe seeing a connection because I looked like his dad, came and started playing with me.  Kenyan leaned over and whispered in my ear,  “Daddy, he must be your son because he is black.” At least he whispered it, sparing me from a potentially awkward moment.

Sometimes when your kids’ mouths begin to open, you cower as you never know what embarrassing thing is going to come out.

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Children, Family and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mommy, Is That My Daddy?

  1. TIA says:

    They DEFINATELY have no problem speaking their minds……children I mean:). Funny!

  2. Scotty G says:

    There is a fellow in my parents neighbourhood who has dwarfism. As a child, the first time I saw him on the bus with my Mum I told her, “Look mommy! A baby man!”. And that’s what I told them every time I saw him tell I grew a little and learnt social manners.
    And now my sweet little girl of 2 exclaimed “SANTA!” when we boarded a bus because the driver was a huge 50 something white guy with a huge white beard and white hair.

  3. Edmond says:

    This a very interesting post Carlos. it is lighthearted in intent, but has some profound undertones. The matter of black/white race relations still has many unresolved, one may say still evolving, issues. Nonetheless, “kids say the darnedest things”! LOL!

    • Enigma says:

      Bro, you are so right. The experience underscores the ever-presence race issue that won’t go away anytime soon. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

