There Are No Black Angels!

thKenyan keeps on surprising me with the stuff that comes out of his mouth.  He’s far beyond his 5 years with street smarts.  He can also hold his own in the school smarts too.

Last Saturday was a great day for keeping those jammis on and spending some indoor family time.  It was raining all day and it was dark outside.  I cuddled up with the boys and watched a family movie called, ‘Angel In The House’.  After the movie, we sat and had dinner.  At the table, Kenyan piped up, “Who is an angel anyways?  I know I am not one.”  His mom and I looked at each other.  Uh huh, now where is he going with this?  “Why do you say that, Kenyan?  I asked, fearing his response.  He did not disappoint.

“Look at me, I am a black man.  There are no black angels!”  Why does this child always stump the heck out of me? What do I say to that? Maybe it’s time I talk to movie producers.  “Get some more brothers playing angels.  You are sending my kids the wrong message!”  I really can’t remember what my response was. I think I just ignored him and kept on eating while my mind tried to dig up some dark-skinned angels I knew.  Morgan Freeman! No, he was God.  Wasn’t he an Angel too? I think I remember Chris Rock playing an angel once also…Noticed that he also said he’s a ‘black man’ and not a black kid?

I really don’t know about that boy…

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Children, Life, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

