Goodbye Books!

imagesLast Sunday I took it upon myself to clean up the boys’ room.  There was just too much ‘stuff’ in there.  I ended up spending a few hours working on books.  Not studying them but deciding what to throw away and what to keep.

I love books.  I have always loved books.  To me, a book is like a pet.  You treat it tenderly and show it love and respect.  So I grimaced as I went through the mistreated books on the boys’ bookshelf.  Torn pages, ripped covers.  Some of these books were treasured stories I enjoyed as a kid.  I wished the boys felt the same way about them but they didn’t.  Not when ICarly and music videos were on tv.  Reading books was a chore. Where did I go wrong? As kids, we read to them every night and tried hard to get them interested in reading.  We never figured on the competition.

Here’s Gulliver’s Travels! One of my all time favorites.  I tried reading that to the boys before and they lost interest by page two. I even got the movie for them to watch.  It never got finished.  Donate.  Here’s a book of stories, Jack and The Beanstalk, Cinderella, etc.  Oh man, I hate to admit this but I read and enjoyed those stories until I was about 13.  Donate.

Amie had some books she read as a kid and she wanted them to remain with us, whether the boys read them or not.  So don’t donate.  As I piled book after book into the donate garbage bag, I thought of how easy it is to find these books and more online.  In fact one could even have them read which saves you from actually reading.  Well no wonder the kids are not interested in books!

Goodbye books!

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Children, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Goodbye Books!

  1. Marlena says:

    You commented you read to them when they were little kids but they still are! Don’t give up, keep trying!

    • Enigma says:

      I know. I can’t give up as reading is too important to me. It’s so much harder now with the extra-curricular activities after school. We need more hours in a day! Lol

Leave a Reply

