My Precocious 5-Year Old

kenSo last night as 5-year old Kenyan was climbing the ladder to his top bunk, he grumbled, “I hate myself!” I stopped half way out the door. “What did you say?”  “I said I don’t like myself”.  He repeated, using better words.  I went to his bedside to be a daddy.

“Now son, why don’t you like yourself?  You have a family that loves you and lots of friends.”  “I know that.” He replied dejectedly.  I was very concerned as no 5-year old should be saying what he was saying.  Then he made things clearer.  “I don’t even have a girlfriend!”  Well that explains it!  And son, you think you have issues now because you don’t have a girlfriend?  You just wait until you do have one.  I didn’t say that of course.  He’s still too young to understand. Instead I said, “Well Mikhail is 7 and he doesn’t have a girlfriend.  He wasn’t fazed. “And what does that have to do with me?”  I told you the kid was precocious.  Ok then I’ll try a new approach.

So I had to break it down for the boy.  Told him to think about school and forget about girls. I told him that when I was his age, I ran away and cried if a girl so much as looked at me.  I painted a not-so-rosy picture of what having a girlfriend was all about.

Today while driving him home,  I asked him how he felt about not having a girlfriend and his response was, “I am too young to have a girlfriend, daddy!  The kid’s a fast learner too!

 

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Children, Parenting, Relationship and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

