It’s Not That Easy Buying For Her, Is It?

imagesOn the radio today, the question was asked, “What is the worst gift to buy for a woman?”  One listener, a female, said that unless the guy is 100% sure of the size, clothes are a no-no.  If it’s too big, they see it as sending the message that they are fat.  Too small says that they need to lose a few pounds to fit into the dress.   And here was I thinking that buying it a size or two smaller would be flattering…  I would expect to be greeted with, ‘Awww, Honey, you actually thought I was a size two?”  You aren’t?

Kitchen utensils and appliances were also ranked high on the not-to-buy list.  So don’t get her that fancy set of pots you had your eyes set on, and forget the ice-making fridge too.  I really can’t see why any woman would not be excited to get a  nice Lagostina set or some nice dishes.  A matching set of LG washer and dryer would make her the envy of her competitive neighbor.    And no, it doesn’t mean that her place is in the kitchen or in the laundry room.  I love getting tools for Christmas and that doesn’t mean I have to use them but I’m fascinated with shiny things and that stainless steel socket set?  Mmmm…and the manly looking table saw?  Nothing screams macho like a man with a full set of tools.  Just ask my next door neighbor.  This is off the record but I think my wife uses my tools more than I do, not to take anything away from my Bob-the-builder expertise.  I just allow her to dabble.  Let her play with power for a while.  I also don’t mind seeing her wearing my tool belt while pretending to be a carpenter…ok, enough with the distraction.

So why are men happy to receive tools but women aren’t?  Some may say, “Well it’s a man’s job to fix stuff” but that’s not according to some women.  It’s all about equality now. Just like it’s not a woman’s job to cook, wash and clean. So then if we are happy with our tools shouldn’t my woman be happy with her tools? Sorry, I meant appliances.

But Christmas is all about happiness, so to avert danger and avoid conflicts, let’s give the gals whatever makes them happy.  Nothing says ‘best boy friend’ like a diamond ring or necklace.  Well some other things say it too but those are starters.  And honey, if you are reading this, it’s just a blog so don’t entertain any ideas.

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Christmas, Relationship and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

