Greying Old

If Obama doesn't mind then why should I?

If Obama doesn’t mind then why should I?

While clipping my beard the other day, noticing that the ‘wild weeds’ were taking over, I thought of the first time I saw a grey strand sticking out like a wild dandelion among my neatly manicured lawn.   “Oh no!” I thought then.  “I am getting old!” I was just in my early thirties then so I wasn’t worried.  It was just premature greying.  Nothing that a little dye won’t fix.

Fast forward to present and here I am, the weed has mostly taken over my garden and I’ve given up the fight to eliminate them.  Now I regard the sight of a black hair with surprise.  “Oh look, a black one!  An escapee!”

It’s funny because whenever I see someone sporting a goatee sprinkled with a little salt and pepper, I find it a nice look but when I try to sport the same thing, I feel that everyone is looking and going, “Hey look at the grey in that guy’s beard!”  I know they are not.  Or are they?

It’s a sign of wisdom they say.  I believe them.  When you finally realize it’s a losing battle and stop wasting your hard-earned money on hair color, it’s a sure sign you are wising up.  I wised up years ago.  I shaved it all off!  If you can’t get rid of the dandelions, then get rid of the lawn.

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

