Stumping Teacher

thWhile driving with Amie last week, I got a call from Azur’s teacher complaining that he hadn’t handed in any of his English assignments.  *Yawn*  She wanted to know if she could arrange something so he could play catch up.  Maybe use his spares?

If you have read my earlier blogs you would get an idea how I really feel about the current education system.  A system designed to churn out kids unprepared for the real world but I won’t digress.  While the teacher laid out plans for Azur, I interrupted her to let her know that we’ve been through this more times that I care to count and have lost all interest in dead-horse flogging.  Then I said it!

“You can fail him.” Is what I said in a calm and soothing voice.  Well maybe not soothing.  She was lost for words and I imagined her saying. “Say what?  Fail him? What’s that? What do you mean? Parents never tell us to fail their kids.  What kind of parent are you anyways? Wanting to fail his own kid…You should be reported to somebody, someplace.  I can fail him, he says!  I couldn’t even fail him if I wanted to.  We don’t do that here.”

Teacher, if you are reading this, I am sorry to stump you like that and put you in such a predicament.  You see I am from the old school where we either passed or failed. We didn’t reward kids for not trying.  We didn’t get grades handed to us on a silver paper.  No ma’am.  The old school that I am from did not cater to children who showed no interest in learning. They said it took away from those who do so we weeded them out.  But I understand your point, teacher.  It’s the system, right?  It’s designed to create a level playing field, right? No kid left behind.  No hurt feelings.  After all, it’s all about sensitivity these days.  In that case teacher, pass the failing kid.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Children, Parenting, School and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stumping Teacher

  1. Do try to work with the teachers, but I do understand.

    Don’t forget the possibility of homeschooling.

Leave a Reply

