I Bet I Can’t Eat Just One

So many choices...

So many choices…

Hi, my name is Carlos and I am a compulsive eater.  Well maybe not in the true sense of the word…Take this morning for instance, a co-worker who obviously thought he was being a sure shoo-in for employee of the month, brought in not just a box of donuts BUT also a bag.  Yes, a box and a bag of donuts!  As if…

The employee, nice guy that he is, decided that placing them right outside my office, within a few steps of my door would be a great spot.  Good thing I had my lunch, leftovers from my wife’s wonderful dinner, in the fridge and some healthy carrots to snack on sitting on my desk.  I decided that one won’t hurt.  Just one.

I took one.  Then another because it didn’t taste like I expected it to. The second tasted better and I was comfortably full.  My obsession wasn’t done with me.  Within minutes, I was beckoned to the back where one of my suppliers had brought me a box of donuts and my favorite coffee. Good thing I had my fill so I could ignore this new threat to my appetite.  I had one. Just one.

Fellow obsessive eaters, I felt like crap after.  Still do.  I know what you are going to say.  “Why didn’t I quit after one? Or two?” Well friends, if I did, I wouldn’t be here right now, would I? 

My obsession is usually only with donuts and pizzas.  I can’t stop myself and end up feeling like an overstuffed couch.  When it comes to pizza, I have to try every variety that’s on the table.  Six kinds?  No problem, I would just have one.  Yes, one slice of each.  Hey! Maybe I am not an obsessive eater after all! Maybe I just like to sample varieties.  If there was just one type of donuts and one type of pizza, I won’t be like this.  Yes, I am sure.

 So there  you have it my new friends.  I am a foodaholic. I need help before I self-destruct. Now as I sit at my desk, I look at my uneaten carrots with a guilt in my eyes.  I feel like I betrayed the poor veggies.  And to think, today was Whopper Wednesday at Burger King!

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Food, Health and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Bet I Can’t Eat Just One

  1. Marlena says:

    Oh Carlos! Don’t forget fresh buns

Leave a Reply

