Let’s Fight Honey, They Say It’s Healthy

10010437_10152049964367865_1463283260_oLast week I had a meeting with a CFS worker as part of the certification process to be  licensed.  Amie had her meeting a week prior and warned me that it was very personal.  The questions were indeed deep and personal.  Talking about my life back in the Caribbean evoked memories both good and bad.

One of the questions asked was how often Amie and I fight.  As usual I was a bit hesitant answering this question.  “We never fight.  Actually we have never fought.”  I finally responded honestly.  She was dubious. “Never?”  She asked.  “What if she wanted to paint a room one color and you wanted another?”  Well if that’s the best we can do in finding something to fight about then we need to grow up.  No, I didn’t say that to her, don’t worry.  I couldn’t care less what color Amie wants to paint a room, as long as she doesn’t tell me what to put on my pizza…wait, she actually does.

You are probably thinking,  “Never fight? Whatever ! Mr. and Mrs. Perfect!” Or you may be thinking I’m a ‘Yes Man’ who just agrees to every and anything his wife proposes.  Far from.  We do not always see things the same way but agree to disagree.  (See? Told you we weren’t perfect.)

Everyone and every study touts the benefits of a good fight among couples.  The sessions that precede this practice is supposedly phenomenal.  Sadly, Amie and I do not get to experience this makeup thing.  We continue down the unhealthy path of a non-fight relationship.  And we love it!  Heck, we even managed to go out on a date this past Saturday!  And we didn’t argue about what we should eat or where we should go.  Weird huh?  I must admit that her choice of steak ended up tasting better than my choice of venison.

Maybe a good fight followed by a makeup session is exactly what the doctor recommends for a good relationship, I can see that.  But if it isn’t broken, why fix it?  Most arguments are based on trivial stuff.  Money, room color, food choices, money, and money.  All trivial matters.  Life is short, isn’t it?

Honey! Why aren’t you in the darn kitchen!!

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Family, Relationship and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

