Sorry Momma

thDuring the last month and a half, my wife and I have been busy working on my mom’s house, getting it ready to go on the market.  We basically gave it an interior facelift.   Bathroom lighting and mirror, basement carpet, new light fixtures in the kitchen and living room, fresh paint, baseboards, and the list goes on.  It took far longer than we anticipated.

When we thought we were done, something else would pop up and before long, what started off as a fun couple-of-weekends project, turned into a nightmare.  Dragging three kids across town did not help either.  Keeping them busy and entertained while working was not an easy task.  So quite understandably, we were starting to get a bit not-too-happy. Then it went up for sale and we were done!  Or were we?

The real estate agent made some aesthetic recommendations and my mom, eager to get rid of the house, was quick to oblige.  Poor Momma just wanted to sell the darn thing.  Now it’s always on her mind.  She cannot handle the open houses that yield no offers.  It’s all that’s been on her mind lately.

One day right after work, I went to fix a leaky faucet, which again turned into fixing something else.  I also had to do some caulking around the bathroom counter and because I was fuming inside, I did a rather crappy job.  I didn’t care. I just wanted to get the job done and go home.  I had had enough of this house.

On Friday the weekend, we went to do some more work on the house, yes more work, and Amie commented on the bad job I did. I went to look and sure enough the job was badly done.  I immediately felt bad about it.  I apologized to mom, letting her know that I was feeling a bit overwhelmed at the time and just wanted to get out.  I promised to redo it.  She said she saw I was doing a bad job but didn’t say anything for fear of making me feel bad.  Awww mom…

Mom is not young anymore and one day I will wish I could do something for her but she won’t be around to ask.  I realize that I should cherish the times spent with her, whether it’s doing errands, running chores or giving her a ride to someplace.  I got mad. I got irritated and for that, I am sorry, momma.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sorry Momma

  1. Marlena says:

    At least you recognize it and have apologized. She loves you no matter what

Leave a Reply

