Honey, About That Bike…

The Bike

The Bike

So I was thinking…remember that bike the old lady bought me for Father’s Day? Well how could you not, it was only 3 days ago.  Anyways, if you don’t, go back and read this. Like I said though, I was thinking…

On Monday, after the boys’ hockey game, I got home intending to maybe catch some soccer action.  As soon as we got inside the house, my wife goes, “Hey, maybe you should try out that new bike.”  Well I had no intention of breaking into a sweat anytime soon but come on, how could I say no and let her think it was a bad idea getting me the bike? So I feigned enthusiasm and replied, “Oh yes! I totally was going to do that! Great idea!”  And so I went for a reluctant bike ride around the neighborhood.  Man it’s a good thing riding a bike was like…riding a bike, as I felt a bit unbalanced on the thing. I rode sporadically during the last few years, with emphasis on sporadically.  I was a shadow of my former bike riding self, wobbling like a kid who just had his training wheels removed.  Ok, maybe not that bad.  But I sure wasn’t g fit to tie Lance Armstrong’s shoe laces.

As I rode, I thought, “What made her get me this bike anyway? Is it a subliminal message of some sort? Is she saying I’m getting fat and lazy?  Or maybe just lazy?” I mean she made it clear when she said, “Oh you could get in an hour or so of riding every evening.”  An hour or so? What would that leave me in terms of blogging, watching OITNB on Netflix, World Cup, etc.?  And that’s after the boys’ hockey.

So you see, no wonder I’m wondering about the reason behind the bike.  Not that I mind, mind you.  I don’t.  The wifey is looking out for her man’s health and nothing’s wrong with that. If you don’t see me around, I’ll be on the trails.

 

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Family, Health, Relationship and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

