The Guy In The Bedroom Window

https://i0.wp.com/www.wellsincambodia.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/04/Old-man-looking-out-window.jpgThis daddy needs to really chill.  I am talking about me. A couple of days ago, I was supervising from my bedroom window as my boys rode their bikes and scooters down the street with the neighborhood kids. I would yell ‘Car!’ each time I see a vehicle approaching. I felt that if I weren’t there, someone would get hit.  Don’t you go thinking I’m too much of a helicopter parent or whatever because I can tell you my creeping maybe saved a life a week ago.  Let me digress…

About a week ago, as I again watched from my bedroom window, I know you are having  images of some old creepy guy staring out from behind his bedroom window coverings… But anyways, as I watched, the little boy across the street came darting out of his house, he did not look left or right as he headed to my house to get my boys.  From my lookout, I saw a car coming down the street at a good speed and yelled, ‘CAR! STOP! STOP!’  Well I must have scared him because he slammed on his ‘brakes’ and stopped just on the edge of his driveway as the car zipped by, mere inches away.  Aha! And you laugh at me.  He did have the presence of mind to look up and say ‘thank you’ to me.

Back to my story, so while watching, again from the window, and by now you are wondering “Why don’t you just go outside already?” Well it’s easier to do housework while inside. I don’t just stand there and peep, you know!  I actually move away and re-visit. But anyways, as I watched, Kenyan my 6-year-old suddenly fell to the ground and started crying.  I immediately ran downstairs, abandoning my post, that should get me court-martialed. I ran to him and in a Daddy’s voice asked him what happened.  He told me that one of the kids had stepped on a skateboard and it had flipped up and hit him in the nose. I looked at the kid for corroboration. I was a bit skeptical that it was an accident knowing how boys can be.

I made sure the kid said sorry and brought Kenyan inside for observation.  Against his wishes of course. Well I kinda wanted to interrogate him in seclusion to see what actually went down.  He insisted he was fine and was sent back outside.  That’s when I thought, “Man, I really have to let the kids be kids.”  Meaning let them play, get hurt and cry. Maybe the kid did it on purpose, maybe he didn’t. It’s going to happen. People will hurt them, accidentally and intentionally. Nothing I can do about it other than teaching them how to deal with it.  It’s just the way life is. They learn from their bumps and bruises. The kids just have to be kids and we parents just sometimes need to chill.

About the window, I will still be manning my post. Did you not hear me say I saved a life? Then why would you want me to give it up?

Related:

Please teach your kids bike safety

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Children, Family, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

