Church Talks With My 6 Year-Old

Last Saturday, I attended my old church as I was invited to do special music.  It was great re-connecting with the old congregation that I used to worship with.  It seemed like the feeling was mutual as I was greeted warmly by everyone.  The pastor was new of course but for the most part it was the same church.

I took Kenyan with me and when the pastor started to preach, Kenyan looked at me with big eyes and exclaimed, “Daddy, he is serious!” At our church, he was used to the conversational tone of our pastor, not the in-your-face type preaching.  Then a short time later, the kid who doesn’t miss much, made an observation, “Why is everyone black?” “I will explain later.” I responded.

While driving home, I explained that when people arrive here from the Caribbean, they felt more comfortable worshiping with other people from the same place so they set up their own churches. Same could be said for Asians and other cultures. He understood.

I always have to be ready with answers with this kid.

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Children, Faith, Family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

