I Love My New Job!

Now that’s something I can’t remember ever saying before.  I must really be getting old.  Or maybe I do love my new job. After all, I had just said goodbye to my workplace from hell as I called it affectionately, so anything else would and should look great.

I went into my new position with a greatish expectations. Everyone had something good to say about the place. I had friends who knew someone who had been there for many years and had nothing but praises for the place. But you never know, right?

I was blown away right from day one! The people were so welcoming that I felt like thanking them. And I did. Plus, after so many years working in construction and manufacturing industries, even though it was in the office, I was used to the jeans and work-boots. I was also used to the colorful language and unprofessional behavior displayed by managers and employees alike. Being able to wear dressy clothes and listen to people converse civilly with each other was as refreshing as drink in the desert. I am sorry but I gulped it down!

So what makes this place so special? Yes, I realize that other offices have nice friendly people using nice language and wearing dressy clothes. It wasn’t just that. This place had something that I was not used to. It had a team!  A team that talked and listened to me. They valued what I had to say. Who me? You want to know what I think?   My opinion was not only welcomed but also valued.  It wasn’t hard to see right away why so many employees were there for 30 plus years.  The word ‘boss’ is not used here.  We say ‘team leader’ and we are the team.

There is a gym, various social programs, regular ticket draws for big ticket shows at the arena, including NHL games, even a toastmasters club! There’s always something going on yet the employees manage to get things done and efficiently and without having to get mad at each other.  They still manage to smile and say hi as when they pass you in the hallways.

Oh, I forgot to mention the cafe/restaurant. Yep, we have our own restaurant! It can be expensive though as it comes off your cheques directly.  You don’t see it until you get your pay stub.

I can go on and on but you got the picture. I was starved for a good place to work.  An employer who valued me as an employee with a voice.  A chance to prove my worth, my potential.  A respectful workplace. I found it!

 

 

 

 

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Life, Work and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Love My New Job!

  1. Knew you’d love it there!!! Feels good doesn’t it? Lafarge who? lol Happy for you my friend!!

Leave a Reply

