Daddy’s Lousy Morning

Wasn’t this bad but you got the picture…

I had a bad morning. Dumb.  Stupid. Costly.  It didn’t start out badly as I had a goodish night, woke up nice and fresh and got ready to face the day.  The unfortunate thing was, Amie called in sick.  So what does that have to do with me having a bad morning? Well let me explain…

Amie usually leaves before I do.  At night, she parks the car on the driveway while I park in the garage. It’s a matter of choice, she chooses to do this. When I back out, the driveway is always clear. Now you see where I’m going with this?  So this morning as I backed out, my mind was far away from thinking about the car on the driveway, there because Amie was not going to work. To make matters worse, or I should say to make this even more embarrassing, I have backup sensors that were beeping like crazy but the meaning of the beeps were lost on me.  They must be malfunctioning as the driveway should be clear. I was focused on clearing the garage so I could remotely close the door.  Plus I was also reaching for my low-light driving glasses as it was still dark-ish.  So you see, I really thought I had the driveway all to myself. Crunch! Scrape..

Uh oh! Who put the garbage bins on the driveway? It’s not even garbage day!  Those were my thoughts. Then I looked back. The car! What was it doing there?  Ohhh, Amie is at home.  Hence the car…Please God let there be no damage. God wasn’t listening.  There was  damage.  On both vehicles.

And that’s how my morning went.  I called Amie from work to give her the bad news.  “Honey, I have good news and bad news.  What do you want first?”  She chose the bad and I told her.  “So what’s the good news?” She asked after.  “Oh I am alright.”  “You won’t be when you get home.” She responded.  I was fine when I got home but I couldn’t bring myself to look at the damage on either vehicle.

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

