Daddy Is A Church Snob

If you have read a few of my bogs then you would have concluded that my 6 year-old is quite the kid. The things he comes up with, his antics, he is truly a special boy, not to take anything away from his other siblings.

Yesterday, I took him to church. We sat in our usual area, the left side of the church and about four rows back. It was my comfort zone. Our row was empty except for the two of us. Awesome!

Julius, our neighbour and friend, walked in. He also sat in his comfy area, on the right side and that’s when Kenyan had his brilliant idea. “Daddy, let’s sit with him.” That was absurd. I never sit on that side! “Why should we sit there? We have this row to ourselves..” I tried to make a point. “So you could talk to your friend.” I tried to explain that I would rather hang with him. “But Kenyan, if I sit here with you we could chat. If we go and sit with him then I won’t talk to you much.” Why am I arguing this point?  What’s the big deal changing seats? “You and I talk all the time, I won’t mind if you talk to him. We can always talk later.” Humbled by a kid...

I actually enjoyed sitting with Julius. I found that the people on the other side are actually normal and nice!  They were just like you and me.  As we chatted, Kenyan tapped me on my arm. What now kiddo? Want me to go sit in the front row now too? As I lowered my head to listen he whispered, “That’s the way!” Who is this kid?

The kid was right. It was perfect. It was what church should be. Not a place to form cliques but a place to meet new people and make them feel welcome. It’s so easy to hide in our comfy area…

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Children, Faith, Family, Relationship and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

