Banned from my son’s room

imageYesterday after school, I scolded Kenyan, yes the 6 year-old, about losing his school books and not paying attention to detail.  He took off to his room in a huff, saying goodbye and goodnight.

After about an hour, I went to check on him to sort out his feelings.  His door was shut and as I pushed it open I saw the note telling me not to come in.

I went in anyway. I also decided that I needed to share the moment. As I prepared to take a photo,  Kenyan started crying. Asked why he was crying, his reply was, “You are going to put it in Facebook and say look, my son is six and can’t make an ‘n’ ”

Why did he say that? About 30 minutes before Daddy got banned, Kenyan was showing me his spelling test in which he had gotten a 9 out of 10. The one word he got wrong was due to his ‘n’ being made like an ‘h’.  I had him do some practice ‘h’ and ‘n’ until I was sure he had it down. Now here he was confusing his ‘n’ and ‘h’ again.  Told you he doesn’t pay attention to detail.  Focus son, focus.

I wasn’t mad at Kenyan’s note. I found it cute. I sat on his bed, plopped him on my lap and had a nice long chat about what made him write the note and about his penmanship of course.

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Children, Family, Life, Parenting, School and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

