He Needs A Nerf Gun Like I Need A New Cell

A few days ago as I was browsing smartphone plans on the internet, my very inquisitive son, Kenyan asked, “Why are you looking at phones?” I replied that my phone’s glass was cracked and I was looking to get a new one.  “Does it still work?” He asked.  I answered that it did and without missing a beat his smart response was, “If it’s still working why do you need to get a new one?”  Because I want it to look good while it was working.  Because I wanted to keep up with the electronic age and get the latest phone.  Because this phone is an S4 and there’s actually an S5 out there that’s even better.  I didn’t say any of that but agreed that he had a point.

I also had a point.  In his letter to Santa, Kenyan asked for a nerf gun. So what’s wrong with that?  Well he has at least 3 nerf guns.  Granted, he doesn’t know he has them.  He keeps getting a nerf guns and within 24 hours, Daddy would have them hidden away. Bullet-ridden house, intentional and potentially dangerous shots to the face and irresponsible use of firearm.  Reasons for the gun amnesty. But he still wants one, even for just a couple of hours.

So the little life coach is good at telling me what I need but he sucks at knowing his own needs.  Thanks to him, the taste of a new smartphone no longer linger on my palate.  In fact, I am purchasing a replacement glass. Thank you son!

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Children, Family, Humor, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

