He Wasn’t My Dad But He Was My Father

carlos, sheldon and dad

Hanging with the old man at St. Vincent Carnival 2004

Today, the man who was my father passed away.  During his illness I had a chance to talk to him like a son.  I never mentioned or asked why he wasn’t my dad. It didn’t matter so much anymore.  What mattered was that he was dying and I was presented with a chance to talk to him.  In death, more was accomplished than in life.

I wished my father could have met my lovely family.  Wished he could have seen his three grand-kids and how special they are.  I am sure he would have been proud.  I wished we could have had just one day to sit and talk about stuff. Just stuff.

My father is at rest now and in a way, so am I.  I am planning to travel to England to attend his funeral and pay my last respect to the man who was my father but couldn’t be my dad.

RIP Old Fella!

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Death, Life, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

