When My Kids Make Me Shut Up

I am blessed with three of the most smart-ass kids that I have ever met. Every word that I say has to be carefully analyzed and scrutinized before I say it.  I have to make sure I have explanations prepared for their comebacks.  If not, I would be caught flat-footed and wordless, like I was today.

Today was our Communion ceremony in church.  I went with Kenyan the 7-year old.  As the ‘wine’ was being passed out, I explained to Kenyan that it symbolizes the blood of Christ.  Being a parent, this was also an excellent opportunity to use this to my advantage.  “When you take it, it’s like having his blood in you so you will be nicer to your brothers, your parents and others too.”  His reply was immediate. “It doesn’t work for Mikhail”, referring to his 9-year old brother who has had communion before.  I shut up.

Hours later and back at home, Treyton, the baby at 5-years old, called Mikhail a jerk.  I immediately reminded him that it was on the list of words that we don’t say.  Like his brother, his response was without hesitation.  “Well mommy said it before.  If it’s not illegal for adults then it’s not illegal for kids either.”  Again I shut up.  Kids!

He was right but he was also wrong.  There are certain things that are not exactly ‘illegal’ for kids but maybe not ‘appropriate’ for kids.  Certain movies, words, foods and drinks are some of them.  Saying this though, just imagine what a world it would be if the things that we deemed inappropriate for kids, also remained inappropriate for adults too.  In the words of the great Sam Cooke, Oh What A Wonderful World This Would Be.

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
This entry was posted in Children, Faith, Family, Life, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

