Our Epic Road Trip To Disney World

20160821_101443Note:  I have been so busy that I forgot to post this blog after our family Disney Trip.  Just found it sitting in my drafts.

When we finally said, “We are going to Disney!” it sounded like a dream but it was a dream come true. Over the years, we stashed money away in various containers for our Disney trip.  We had no idea when but we were saving for it.  This past summer, we finally decided the time was now and Amie and I gathered the boys together in our bedroom and broke open the piggy banks, jars, bottles, etc.  Each of us had a task.  One would put all the like bills together, one would gather the coins, while another kept tally.   We had enough to take us to Disney!

My wife is a planning whiz and I must sheepishly admit that I sat back, as I usually do, while she meticulously planned our entire trip.  From where we would stay to where we would eat, to the places we would visit along the way.  During our nightly conversation, she would try to explain the trip to me but I would be half asleep and didn’t pay much attention.  I fully trusted that whatever she planned would make for a great trip. I was right.

We left on August 13th, with our first stop scheduled for Wisconsin Dells, our first time there.  We spent two nights slipping and sliding and having so much fun we forgot where we were going.  I had no doubt that the boys would not have complained too much if we had decided to cut the trip short and just stay in Wisconsin.

2016-08-14-17-03-42

Flying high in Wisconsin

From Chicago to Nashville to Florida, we sampled the foods and visited some attractions.  If Disney was the icing on the cake, we were almost full by the time we got to the cake.  Almost.  We filled up gorged  on  Disney!  Oh by the way, the deep dish at Giordano’s in Chicago is the best!

20160816_142730

Deep Dish at Giordano’s

Like I said, we also spent a night in beautiful Nashville.  That’s a place I would like to visit again, just me and the wife, sans kids.  We could do some major damage there!

A highlight of the trip was visiting my idol, Muhammad Ali’s Center in Kentucky.  Although I would have loved the chance to have met him, being in a place where he once set foot was close enough.  It was a reflective moment going through all his memorabilia,  his poems and ramblings that dated back to his pre-boxing days.  Interesting that he was already charting his course at a young age.

On our way back we went west, with stops including New Orleans and St. Louis. From Gator sausage in New Orleans to BBQ in St. Louis, it was a delectable trip.

If you are wondering how it was driving long hours with three young kids, they were troopers and never once complained about spending too long in the car.

Now that’s what I call a roller-coaster trip!

Enjoy the photos.

 

 

About Enigma

I am just a normal guy with an abnormal way of thinking. Proud father to three remarkable boys and devoted husband to an angelic wife who knows everything and does everything to perfection. So I am BLESSED!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Family, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Our Epic Road Trip To Disney World

  1. Anonymous says:

    Epic indeed! Our family will be visiting Disney mid February…

Leave a Reply

